Chapter 51 The One Where I Fall For Tokyo All Over Again

So I’ve been having way too much fun in Tokyo and have had zero time to write but as a quick catch up I’m going to attempt to remember as much as I can…
11/April 

I started the morning with my Tokyo pals at the incredible Tsukiji Fish market feasting on bowls of fresh sashimi, salmon roe, crab and prawns and god it was good. We hid from the rain in the amazing working market spotting huge tuna heads and slabs of fish. I figured a life admin day needed to be done so found a very hipster cafe to nestle in until it got dark. When I made it back to the hostel we created a massive group to head to the tiny bars of the Golden Gai followed by this hilarious club and then the first train home in the morning.
12/April

As it was on my bucket list we all decided the following day to have a traditional cherry blossom party and chilled all day under the trees with the other revellers and a convenience store feast. That evening we strolled through the Ueno night market and found our way to a gyoza place near out hostel. With no real Japanese on our side language wise we had to translate through a businessman in the restaurant which was hilarious. That night we headed out to Womb – this amazing central Tokyo club for yet another night (sorry mum) and raced back to 7/11 for the fresh chicken that appears there every morning! 
13/april

The next day I took Matt to Asakusa to get him to try his luck at the fortune telling thing in the temple I went to on my first day in Tokyo. We then stumbled upon a spot for a free matcha tea art session and I was transported to latte art days at the cafe in Bath.

Tokyo was beautifully sunny so we spent the day spotting cherry blossoms and passed a pond of gorgeous old men fishing away their Friday afternoons. We eventually found our way to the sky tower where we sneaked our way into a beautiful rooftop view and this hidden robot exhibition space before hopping on the train out to shimo-kitzawa for a hipster afternoon. Eventually Taishiana, Victor, Riley and Mel, the rest of the group, came to meet us for this beautiful curry soup dinner with the most tender chicken and finally some more fresh crunchy veg. That evening back at the hostel I tried my first ever Tim tam slam with limited success. It essentially involves using a penguin style biscuit as a straw to drink hot milk – delicious but uncomfortably messy!

14/april

I took Matt to Harajuku to hunt out more places to photograph and to feast at the okonomiyake come gallery space that I had discovered a month ago. We found a beautiful coffee shop in this unbelievably expensive concept store – finally coffee not saturated with syrup. In the afternoon we decided to get everyone together to hunt for costumes for our evening plans at the Tokyo pub crawl. I was definitely limited to Japanese tiny sized but managed to fashion myself as an acceptable Alice in Wonderland for the night! 

15/april

Having had such an amazing time over the last few days I decided to postpone my trip to Seoul and spent the day exploring Shibuya and acting as a photography assistant for Matt. We crashed out eventually at Yoyogi park watching crazy drunk Japanese guys entertaining the crowds before a ramen dinner at the famed Ichiran.


Leave a Reply

